Skip to content

Prince – Melbourne gig review 17th February 2016

February 17, 2016

Enter stage centre, in silhouette, complete with afro, surrounded by a swirling paisley kaleidoscope backdrop. His royal purpleness, funkiness, whatever you want to call him, owns the stage at the Melbourne State Theatre tonight. From the first second, we are captivated. Prince Rogers Nelson begins his set with a song about Melbourne – Big City – the crowd respond enthusiastically, constantly reminding him how much they love him. How can one man, one tiny man (sorry Prince) exude so much love, energy and sex appeal? He owned the crowd, the piano, the funk. I thought I would be witnessing a pretty laid back show, but how wrong could I be? We were up dancing and didn’t sit down until we got back to our hotel. The renowned shy man snuck a few sidelong glances as he murmured between songs, and we lapped it up. He smiled at our response. Leaving the stage several times during the performance only added to the electricity felt in the room. Although there was audience of 2000 people tonight, it felt like he was playing to just a handful of us in the first few rows (yes we were that lucky and silly with the credit card to get us here!). Paisley Park, Purple Rain, Cream, Satisfy, plus a few from his new album HitnRun, Little Red Corvette, How Come You Don’t Call Me Anymore, Raspberry Beret, Rock n Roll Love Affair, plus some back numbers we haven’t heard before. I expect some clever clogs on Twitter will have the set list soon! He finished with Nothing Compares to U – we are yelling for more but the house lights loom large, and people start to leave. The Arts Centre Melbourne tower is lit up purple for him, people are taking selfies everywhere. Cameras and phones were strictly banned under Prince’s instructions, and the gig was all the better for it. One bright spark lit her lighter in front of us during one of the ballads, which was quickly confiscated by the efficient security. I’m back at our hotel now and it’s hard to sleep, so I’m playing his new CD given out to everyone (sorry neighbours) and writing my thoughts down here. He’s doing two nights in Sydney 20/21st Feb, I believe they are sold out too. If you get a chance to see him anywhere, I strongly urge you to do so if you love the funk…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Enrique B permalink
    February 18, 2016 1:51 am

    Great review. Very jealous!

  2. Shannon M. permalink
    February 18, 2016 6:00 am

    Waiting for this to come to the states (LA hopefully or anywhere close to it)!! This tour seems like it is not to be missed. I wish I had sent myself to Paisley Park for the first of the shows. Wasn’t brave enough to do the snow and stand in line and get a hotel room and figure it all out, but now looking back I should have just gone by myself if it came to that and met other Prince fans there. The man is beyond words every time and I hope to call myself lucky enough to see this show if he decides to bring it near me. What a beautiful way to spend an evening !!

  3. Shannon M. permalink
    February 18, 2016 6:02 am

    Dear Prince,

    Please come to LA with this show. Please, pretty please 🙂

    xoxo

  4. Rhiannon Smith permalink
    February 18, 2016 6:21 am

    Dear Prince
    please come back to Australia again next year as I would like to see you in concert 🙂

  5. Simon permalink
    February 18, 2016 9:05 am

    Which show did you go too?… the 6:30pm or 10:00pm performance?

    I was at the 10:00pm show on Feb 17, here’s a full setlist:

    01. Big City
    02. Joy In Repetition
    03. When The Lights Go Down
    04. Little Red Corvette/Dirty Mind
    05. I Wanna Be Your Lover
    06. Free Urself
    07. Satisfied
    08. Diamonds And Pearls
    09. The Beautiful Ones
    10. Cream
    11. Dear Mr. Man
    12. I Love U, But I Don’t Trust U Anymore
    13. Raspberry Beret
    14. Starfish And Coffee
    15. Paisley Park
    16. Kiss
    17. Black Sweat
    18. Sometimes It Snows In April
    19. Purple Rain
    20. Purple Music
    21. Nothing Compares 2 U

  6. Sol Jess permalink
    February 18, 2016 2:41 pm

    …its gonna be a beautiful Sydney nite, going to both shows both nites 💜💜💜💜

Trackbacks

  1. Prince da il via al suo “Piano & A Microphone Tour” | S I M O N E N I G A

Leave a Reply

