Skip to content

Well, here I am again

July 21, 2014

I was trawling through my ‘favourites’ on my laptop this morning, and came across my much neglected blog. Much has happened since my last posting. A lot of it is personal and involves complex family stuff, so inappropriate to write about here. But food for thought, and for writing. As families unravel due to bereavement and other such tragedies, it makes you examine who you are and why you do what you do. It also makes you question how other people live their lives as they do, and speaking as an outsider looking in, who are we to have the authority to judge or criticise? That said, having to try to pick up the pieces is enormously stressful – we have spent our lives being in control, and losing that control is quite scary.

The culmination of my years of study with the Open University has left me a little lost. Since 2000 I have gained certificates, diplomas, a BA and an MA, made many good friends and had fantastic experiences. But now I’ve had my last graduation ceremony, written my last assignment, spoken to my tutor for the last time – I am bereft. I have no desire or space in my brain to go for a PhD – or the funds come to that. So, where to go from here? The desire to write is a powerful one. Too much of it is spent writing on social media and connecting with people, although this does fill the gap left by my 32 years of working with large groups of people, many of whom are now very good friends.

So, having plucked up the courage to send one of my short stories to a few friends, and had some lovely and encouraging feedback, I am now sitting down to write it into a novel. The working title is ‘The Mistake’ – it is based on where I live, and is the imagined story of one of the former patients of a mental asylum, how she rebuilds her life only for it to fall apart when she least expects it. Secrets, mental illness, family breakdown – all jolly stuff! But essentially it is about two strong women who have made mistakes in their lives, and how the fallout from this affects them and their families. Mental illness is still sadly a taboo subject, and requires much careful research, I only hope I can do it justice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2014 8:20 am

    Welcome back. Always nice to hear from you on here. I hope the novel will occupy you and fill the gap left by the end of your studies. Best of luck with everything.

  2. July 23, 2014 8:30 am

    Thanks Trevor!

Leave a Reply

