Skip to content

Compliment

July 23, 2012

I had a really nice comment about my blog today. It reads:

I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days

How lovely. Except the Spam filter on WordPress had intercepted it, the sender was a fake Rolex watch site with a link. Needless to say I didn’t click on it.

So, I’ll never know if the writing really was as ‘excellent’ as they said, and I expect they wanted my vanity to just click on the link to reply and say thanks. Which I would have done. If it wasn’t spam, with an obviously dodgy link.

Interesting angle from the old spammers though, eh?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2012 6:59 pm

    Sadly, Jill, it’s hardly a new approach. My spam filter finds loads of these.

Leave a Reply

