Skip to content

Another medal!

July 25, 2011

Well, well. After being persuaded by my lovely friend Glynis, I find myself nursing aching limbs and a general “how did that happen?” feeling. Yesterday we completed the Race for Life in aid of Cancer Research UK. Here’s a picture of the victorious couple –

Medals...

We completed 5k in about 55 minutes. It would have been a lot quicker but there were parts of the course that were a bit of a bottleneck. A power walk is such a good way of burning of calories, keeps your muscles warm whilst limiting impact on your joints. Great for those of us with dodgy knees, backs, and so on. In the process I have raised around £250.  It was heart warming reading the signs on everyone’s backs – tributes to friends and family lost to cancer, as well as hopeful survivor stories. So, next year we are planning big – 10k instead of 5, and we hope to get a lot more ladies on board. Anyone can do the 5k, so the 10k is a real challenge. Who wants to join the Fairfield Fillies in the 2012 Race for Life then?

we jogged across the finish line!

I surprised myself enormously. As a gym member but lifelong physical illiterate, I have had a back problem for more years than I care to remember. But my aches and pains are nothing compared to the pain of a cancer victim. I cannot even begin to imagine what they go through, but I am sure mine doesn’t even come close.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barbara White permalink
    July 25, 2011 2:11 pm

    Congratulations girls. I have been persuaded to donate by your words (the ones on the back of your tee shirt. I am a survivor and I would love to join you next year in your 10k persuit.

Leave a Reply

