Skip to content

What is it with snow?

November 30, 2010

From a little light dusting of icing sugar snow to a full-blown drifting blizzard of the stuff, our country has managed to work itself up into a state of flux over the varying amounts of frozen rain currently carpeting the vast majority of the country. We live in the northern hemisphere. We are pretty close to nordic countries who experience this for several months of each year. Yet we still react with emotions varying from sheer, unadulterated childish delight, to a morbid dread of being disabled by a type of weather we should be used to. I can remember snowball fights at school and on the green outside our house pretty much every winter in the 60’s and 70’s of my youth. I don’t recall my Dad ever having a “snow day” because he couldn’t travel the two miles to work in the car. I only missed one day at school because it was so icy we couldn’t stand up to walk there – yes, you heard me right – walk, just over a mile each way. The school never closed because of snow. So, have we grown into a nation of softies? Or is the snow just one more reason to stay in the cosiness of our own homes away from the increasing stresses and strains of modern life? Another excuse to play out in it, reliving our youth – there is something quite amusing about the sight of grown men and women building a snowman, or chucking the stuff at each other, breathlessly wheezing with laughter. I for one will be taking a walk, lots of photos, before warming up with a hot toddy wondering why the country has ground to a halt.

Happy snow day everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicola permalink
    November 30, 2010 9:04 am

    I go out in the snow in high heels!

  2. Ris permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:28 am

    I had to get the school bus every day (as high school was miles away from my house) and I only remember being ‘snowed off’ once in the 5 years that I was at senior school. Like you I remember year after year of snow, so much sometimes that we’d make tunnels and walk through it! (The drifts in the fields of Suffolk were huge sometimes.)
    I think the less stifling health and safety attitude back then helped too. Some of the things we did then we wouldn’t be allowed to do now, such as my Dad driving the 4×4 straight across farmers fields to get through the snow.
    Enjoy your toddy.

Leave a Reply

