Skip to content

Time for work?

August 11, 2010

Day 3 of what I call my new life, and I am beginning to wonder how I ever found time to go to work. I have washed and ironed for England, or so it seems. Cooked, cleaned, met an old friend from work who I had not seen for 18 years, taken part in a local campaign to save an ancient orchard from the clutches of the evil developers, spent the day with my Mum, helping her with household chores she has trouble with as an arthritic 81-year-old. And blogged twice!!

I can honestly say that I have not been bored for one moment – despite the fact that I haven’t had time to read at all or put pen to paper (in an artistic way). Having the time to do things properly is truly cathartic – instead of doing things in a whistle stop fashion (which is against my nature) even simple tasks such as writing an email can be given the time and attention it deserves.

I learned yesterday that I have been offered an allotment – so my time now is going to be divided between being a 1950’s housewife, being Stotfold’s answer to The Good Life, and driving forward my writing and photography – once the ironing’s done. It is breeding in it’s basket I swear. Clothes that haven’t seen daylight, or a body to wear them, are hanging crisp and clean on hangers. It satisfies a slightly OCD tendency of mine, it feels good.

Having more time for family and friends will be good too. Having less money will be a challenge, but I am confident I can adjust (really, who needs shopping when I look at the contents of my wardrobe!!). Quality is better than quantity now. When I look at my list of “Things to Do” – I have enought to keep me going for a couple of years!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

