Skip to content

Wasting time

May 4, 2010

Today was an extra day off work after the May Day bank holiday. An opportunity I thought, to test out my willpower and ability to establish a routine, in preparation for next years change of lifestyle. It started off fairly well. I woke at 8am, and actually got up instead of festering in bed listening to the radio or reading. After having tea and a little chat with myself (it’s weird how you cope with your own company sometimes) I rallied myself, changed and got my sorry arse down to the gym. A major feat in itself, even though it’s on my doorstep. It’s a necessary evil, something I need to do, to burn off the chocolate hobnobs and other such sinful foods, as well as improving my cardiovascular abilities. I have asthma, and I am led to believe by the experts that exercise is one thing which will help improve my condition – despite being one of the things that triggers it.  I hate it to be truthful. All those perfectly honed bodies which seem to show off my “curves” in all their worst light – the mirrors that distort, the grunts from the “Muscle Marys” in the weightlifting area all doing their best to send me scurrying back home to the biscuit barrel. All the instructors are young and pretty, there is no-one there that someone of a “certain age” can relate to. They are all too distracted with the mirrors and each other. Anyway, an hour and twenty minutes later and I am feeling pretty pleased with myself. All my exercises completed, and targets exceeded – “Great Workout!” shouts the display on the treadmill. Yeah, actually it was thanks, but no thanks to any member of the “gym team” today – it was all down to me.

So, home for lunch, resisting all the while to turn on the Tv or the laptop. Radio 4 goes on, and the ironing board comes out. For a bit. Then it gets all too much as I feel the need to connect with the outside world. The laptop goes on, and one click of the favourites later I am chatting to a friend who lives hundreds of miles away. Still, she gives me food for thought, and an interesting array of characters to think about. I actually “jot down notes in a notebook” if you please. This could become a good habit I think. I have a wonderful and eclectic bunch of friends, neighbours and work colleagues, and little bits of information about them pop in and out of my mind,  filed for future use. All completely discreet and anonymous of course. The habit I need to acquire is that of writing it all down, before my memory becomes addled from too much wine or the inevitable consequences of ageing. The habit I need to curtail is that of daydreaming – unless that daydreaming is constructive, notebook and pen by my side.

Nevertheless, I eventually revert to type, and indulge in a little “How Clean is Your House” and “Escape to the Country” and other such indulgent, mind numbing, pointless cable tv programmes.  Until guilt gets the better of me, and the least I can do is actually try and practice the art of “writing stuff down” – i.e. – here in my blog. So, any tips would be welcome, from anyone who has the same dilemmas. I really need to have another word with myself, and try to resist the temptation to answer back.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy Farrier permalink
    May 4, 2010 6:39 pm

    Jill take a tip from Mr Farrier. He does the ironing whilst watching Escape to the country. It is surprising how quickly the time goes. We don’t have any structure to our day apart from getting up time and Tuesdays and Saturdays. Tuesday for me is a family day with my parents and Saturday is Aunty and Uncle day. For Alan Tuesday is golf and Saturday is, of course, football. We just look at the weather forecast, make a snap decision and the go with it.
    It is fun having a practice run though.

  2. Nicola Gates permalink
    May 5, 2010 5:42 am

    Lovely blog Jilly, I am so proud you went to the gym it has inspired me to do the same today. Please please keep writing, I find your words really easy to read. Maybe you should get a ‘thoughts’ notebook?

    xx

  3. lertogeontout permalink
    May 25, 2010 6:09 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

