Skip to content

Technology

March 30, 2010

This new WordPress site is mighty impressive. Mainly, I suspect, because I don’t have a clue what most of the jargon means! Widgets, Dashboards, Tags…wtf??? I am a words girl, not a number cruncher or computer geek. I can see I am going to have to call on some of my technologically talented friends to help!

Today I was sitting next to a little black cloud. A work colleague who isn’t dealing with the news terribly well. She feels hurt, angry and very let down by the place she had signed up to for life. I feel for her, but at the same time have increasingly less patience for those who cannot see how lucky they are. Perhaps it’s hormones raising their ugly head, or perhaps I am just becoming a grumpy old woman as I approach the big 5-0?  Notice how we no longer say the word “fifty” but refer instead to the numbers which make up this magic figure. It’s as if when you say it out loud something bad will happen. Like “Beetlejuice, beetlejuice, beetlejuice!”….and Pfoof! Your once glowing taut skin will turn into muddy grey elephant hide overnight and everything goes south FOREVER!! You lose the ability to remember anything and wear purple and moan about everything. Mmm, can’t wait.

So, the countdown begins. Nine months and one day from now will be my official last day at work. Over 32 years ago I arrived at the doors of the office shaking in my white sandals and respectable skirt and blouse. I leave a more mature (hopefully) confident (definitely) and perhaps more cynical being than I was all those years ago. But I grew up here, and will cherish the memories and experiences that have made me who I am today, and for that reason I cannot feel bitter about being made redundant. I hope it will be the platform to a new life, I cannot wait.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 9:34 pm

    Hi Jill,

    Welcome to WordPress. You’re right, it does seem a bit fiddly, but you mastered blogger okay so this shouldn’t be too much trouble. Couple of things you might want to fiddle with. See if you can find a way to change the font colour of your blog title. The black gets a bit lost over the top of your books photo (well done getting that on!). Also, there’s a subheading that still has the default “Just another WordPress.com weblog” words, which you might want to change or delete (SETTINGS: GENERAL), and also your “about” page is still just a sample page from WordPress. Again, change this to make things look a bit more professional (PAGES: EDIT).

    Happy to help one lunchtime, but I’m away from the office until Friday after Easter!

  2. April 10, 2010 2:37 pm

    Sorry to hear about your redundancy, although you seem to be looking forward to all the things you’ll now be able to do.

  3. April 11, 2010 9:03 am

    Sorry about the impending redundancy. We were both hit by that last autumn and I think one of the problems of being made redundant at the big 5-0 or over is that the prospects of future work are, quite frankly, slim. There is so much competition from younger people. Like you we are trying to use it as an opportunity to do other things, but financially how long can we sustain that? Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

